The Malaysia Developer Awards (MDA) combine the prestige and know-how of the International Real Estate Federation FIABCI Malaysian Chapter, with the might of Malaysia’s most trusted omni-channel media, Star Media Group, to bring you an accolade that is set to be the ultimate benchmark of excellence in the Malaysian property development landscape.


The Top-of-the-Chart Awards are a by-invitation-only award that recognises the best of the best in the property development field.


The Special Awards honour four distinctive achievements - excellence in foreign markets, cooperation between partners, outstanding rookies and purposeful transformation projects - among industry players that dared to go above and beyond.


I. Top-of-the-Chart Awards

By Invitation Only

TOP 10 (for Market Cap RM1 billion and above)

TOP 10 (for Market Cap below RM1 billion)

Listed on Bursa Malaysia

The Top-of-the-Chart Awards are divided into two tiers to even out the playing field between the bigger property developers and their smaller counterparts. This provides the opportunity for medium and small property developers to be recognised, as they’re often left in the shadows of companies that were able to transact at higher levels. By taking financial performance as well as a host of other qualitative measures into account as the criteria to assess the listed property companies, only the best performing companies will be ranked in the Top 10.

How to participate?

Property companies listed on Bursa Malaysia will be financially assessed based on 3 years’ audited financial reports to gauge their revenue, profitability, stability and sustainability. This quantitative component carries 50% of the total assessment.

The companies audited will be divided into two categories: 

(1) market capitalisation of RM1 billion and above

(2) market capitalisation below RM1 billion.

Selected potential recipients will then be invited to provide additional information and documents for the qualitative component, which carries 50% of the total assessment. The areas of focus will be on Placemaking Ingenuity (10%), Creative Digitalisation (10%) and ESG Initiatives (20%). The remaining 10% is on the company's transparency based on its annual report. (Deadline for submission is 31 July 2024).


II. Special Awards

Open For Submission

The Special Awards are divided into four categories, namely the International Awards, Joint Development Awards, Rising Star Awards and Transformation Awards, recognising outstanding achievements in each.

  • Both Bursa Saham-listed companies and non-listed companies are encouraged to participate.
  • Must be a Malaysian company (51% owned by a Malaysian)
  • Each of the Special Awards will have an individual set of judging criteria.
  • Entry fee: RM2,000 (for FIABCI-Malaysia members) and RM3,500 (for non-members)

International Awards

Developers who have managed to penetrate markets beyond their country of origin, and garnered exceptional success through new ideas and concepts while inspiring their peers, will be recognised in this category. Participating developers can either be Malaysian companies with projects in foreign countries, or foreign developers that have successfully gained a foothold in Malaysia by partnering with a local player.

Joint Development Awards

This category is for developers who have joined forces and expertise to leverage on each other’s capabilities to develop a property. The joint-venture (JV) can be two or more Malaysian developers, however, the participating JV can also be between a Malaysian developer and a foreign developer, provided that a consortium has been formed for the project and the foreign developer must not hold over 50% of the JV stake.

Rising Star Awards

The Rising Star category seeks to uncover and highlight new and budding developers who have just set foot into the industry but have set themselves apart from their peers by demonstrating their potential to develop into leading voices.

Transformation Awards

This award acknowledges developers who have transformation projects from the rescuing of abandoned projects to the rejuvenating of old and dilapidated buildings or converting of mining, quarry, disused or derelict land into a grand development.

Note : All projects under the same company records shall be evaluated, that is to say evaluations will not be conducted on the basis of individual projects.


(International, Transformation, Joint Development and Rising Stars)

How to participate?

STEP 1: Login to download the submission kit. Study the requirements and judging criteria to help you craft an effective Submission Paper.

STEP 2: Submit payment receipt of entrance fee to secretariat@malaysiadeveloperawards.com.my

STEP 3: Submit your entry via the Submission Form below (requires registration/login) no later than 31 July 2024. Ensure that all supporting documents for the chosen Category, including the Declaration Form, are attached.


Please LOGIN to download the submission kit and to submit the documentations online